Chair: George Mitchell

Co-Chairs: Sarah Brown & Derrick Mitchell

The Community Action Program of the UAW (CAP) is the union’s non-partisan political arm.  Since the 1960s, the National CAP Department coordinates the UAW’s efforts to educate, organize and mobilize the union’s nearly 1 million active and retired UAW members in electing pro-worker candidates.  CAP also works with members to hold our elected representatives accountable during the course of their terms by organizing UAW member lobby visits.

Political endorsements are made by UAW CAP Councils which are comprised of union members who screen candidates.  Candidates receive UAW endorsement on the basis of their voting records and their stand upon issues that affect working Americans.  Over the years, the UAW has endorsed Democrats, Republicans and Independents.

An integral part of National CAP’s strategy is building coalitions with other unions and progressive groups to elect pro-working family candidates at the local, state, and national levels and to promote progressive legislation.

National CAP also coordinates fundraising for UAW-V-CAP, our union’s political action committee. Funded by voluntary contributions from tens of thousands of UAW members and their families, UAW-V-CAP enables us to pool our resources to support pro-working family candidates.

Login Status
You are not logged in.
Seniority Lists
Internal Job Postings
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Gary Goforth
Mike Danford
Danny Taylor
Steve Roberts
Jay Minella
Steve Homrich
Chris Brown
Richie Griffith

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Joe DiCataldo
Sgt. at Arms
Norman Jenks
Ken Buck
E-Board at Large (2)
Paul Taylor
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Voith Unit Chair
Larry Heflin
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier