GM to Transfer Workers to Flint Assembly Plant

GM to Transfer Workers to Flint Assembly Plant

January 16, 2019
KEYWORDS GM manufacturing
AddThis Sharing Buttons
Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to PrintShare to Email
No Comments
FLINT, MI—Over the next few months, hundreds of General Motors employees will be relocating, and some of those will be coming to the automaker’s assembly plant here.
GM spokesman Dan Flores said the process has only just begun, but so far nearly 700 people will be transferring to the Flint Assembly Plant.
In late November, GM stunned the nation by announcing that it will cut 15 percent of its salaried workforce and idle assembly plants in Michigan, Ohio, Maryland and Canada. The decision will result in the loss of 8,000 white-collar jobs and 6,245 blue-collar jobs: 1,500 in Detroit-Hamtramck; 1,600 in Lordstown, OH; 2,500 in Oshawa, ON; and 645 at transmission plants in Warren, MI, and White Marsh, MD.
The automaker is working to relocate some of those employees at plants in Flint; Arlington, TX; and Spring Hill, TN. Flores said that so far, 1,500 GM employees have agreed to transfer to other plants in the country. Flores said 418 people from Hamtramck and 285 from Lordstown will be transferred to Flint to fill openings there.

Related Articles
GM’s Flint Assembly Plant to Get New Body Shop
GM to Upgrade Paint Shop at Flint Plant
GM to Invest $417 Million in Flint Plant

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Dedrick Wells
Chris Potts
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Daniel Wray
Dominic Perez
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez