Hundreds Of Workers Take Buyouts, Retire Early At GM Lordstown Plant As Layoffs Loom

Hundreds Of Workers Take Buyouts, Retire Early At GM Lordstown Plant As Layoffs Loom
• — JUN 12, 2018

As General Motors prepares to layoff the second shift at the Lordstown, Ohio, plant, hundreds of workers have opted to retire early or take a buyout package.
The Youngstown Vindicator reported on Monday that 595 employees chose the special attrition option, which GM offered in April as it announced the second-shift cut. The buyout takers could help reduce the layoff’s effects, which originally was thought to leave 1,500 employees jobless.
“Obviously [the buyouts are] going to help retain some people,” Dave Green, president of United Auto Workers Local 1112, said. “We want to retain as many members working as we can. For the people who leave, that should save the spot of someone else.”
According to the report, early retirees will receive a one-time cash payment of $60,000 and agree to “relinquish all seniority and rights under GM benefit plan” aside from vested pension plans. For buyout takers, the one-time lump sum can be around $50,000 for workers with more than 20 years at the plant, to as little as $5,000 for workers with less than five years with the plant.
The plant’s final day for a second shift is June 22. Then, the Lordstown plant will run on a single shift to build the 2018 Chevrolet Cruze sedan.

Read more:

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Dedrick Wells
Chris Potts
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Daniel Wray
Dominic Perez
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez