UAW chief: Those who misused funds ‘betrayed our trust’

UAW chief: Those who misused funds ‘betrayed our trust’

Nora Naughton and Nicquel Terry, The Detroit NewsPublished 7:46 p.m. ET June 11, 2018

636643369690434324-2018-0611-rb-me-uaw-williams039.jpgBuy Photo

(Photo: Robin Buckson, The Detroit News)

Detroit – United Auto Workers President Dennis Williams used his final Constitutional Convention here Monday to again distance the union from alleged corruption stemming from an ongoing federal investigation.

“To be clear: those who misallocated or misused training center funds betrayed our trust,” the retiring president told thousands of union members gathered in Cobo Center. “The UAW has zero tolerance for corruption, wrongdoing, at any level of this organization.”

His swift condemnation elicited thunderous applause from union members and delegates gathered for their quadrennial convention. Williams defended the 2015 collective bargaining agreement, as he has done in the past, saying it had not been compromised by the conspiracy between a now-deceased union vice president and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles NV’s top labor negotiator.

Williams outlined steps the union is taking to move beyond the ongoing federal investigation into the misuse of joint training center funds supplied by each of Detroit’s three automakers. And he again rebuffed accusations from union members that dues were compromised.

“Let me remind you of something we discovered and already shared about the investigation: None of the misused training funds were UAW dollars or UAW funds,” he said. “Period.”

The union is changing policies, from credit card rules to blocking the donation of training center funds to UAW charities, Williams said. “Our response was to focus on the steps we could take to make sure this type of situation never happens again.”

During this week’s convention, the UAW is expected to elect accountant Gary Jones, of O’Fallon, Mo., as its next president. Jones, a former administrative assistant to the secretary-treasurer, will succeed Dennis Williams when he retires this month.

In a statement on the UAW website, Williams said the union balanced its finances for three straight years and grew to 430,000 members. The UAW also made steady gains in profit sharing.

The convention comes amid a federal corruption probe into the union’s three joint-training centers. In addition to their investigation in the UAW-FCA National Training Center, federal investigators have issued subpoenas in recent months for information about training centers financed by General Motors Co. and Ford Motor Co. that are operated jointly with the union, sources familiar with the investigation said.

The investigation focuses on whether training funds were misappropriated, and if labor leaders at GM and Ford received money or benefits through their tax-exempt nonprofits — an allegation that emerged last summer involving FCA and General Holiefield, a former UAW vice president and head of its FCA department who died in 2015.

Earlier, Mayor Mike Duggan celebrated the progress of Detroit and the auto industry, marking the start of the 37th UAW Constitutional Convention. It invites UAW members to elect officers, make constitutional amendments and debate policy.

“In the last 10 years we’ve had some rough times,” Duggan said. “But right now the auto industry is coming back strong, the UAW is coming back strong and the city of Detroit is coming back strong. And if we keep fighting together, we’re going to end up stronger than ever.”

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Dedrick Wells
Chris Potts
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Daniel Wray
Dominic Perez
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez