Former GM Janesville Assembly Plant Could Be Demolished Next Year

Former GM Janesville Assembly Plant Could Be Demolished Next Year
• — OCT 11, 2017

The General Motors Janesville, Wisconsin, assembly plant employed 7,000 workers at its peak in 1970 and cranked out hundreds of thousands of cars, trucks and SUVs. But, in 2009, GM had no choice but to close the facility amid the global financial crisis. It permanently shut the facility down in 2015.
Now, it may be demolished as early as next year, according to the GazetteXtra. St. Louis-based business Commercial Development Company entered a contract to purchase the facility from GM on September 1 of this year. It has until November 15 to make a final decision on its intent to purchase the former GM plant.
If the company does buy the plant, it will begin work to remove asbestos, which will take six months, per the report. By then, if Commerical Development Company doesn’t find a buyer for the facility, it will raze the plant in 2018.
“They said, ‘Unless we have reuse needs of the facility structure, we’ll start demolishing and salvaging that plant,’” City Manager Mark Freitag said.
The company would likely demolish the oldest parts of the facility first and attempt to salvage what it can as the demolition continues. The plant was reportedly worth just $12 million last year, which represents a significant decrease from its peak value of $44 million.

Read more:

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier