UAW hall in Kokomo, Ind., destroyed by tornado

UAW hall in Kokomo, Ind., destroyed by tornado
Sean Gagnier
Automotive News | November 19, 2013 – 1:15 pm EST

The UAW Local 685 hall in Kokomo, Ind., was in the cross hairs of a tornado that ripped through the area on Sunday.

“It was completely destroyed. It was a brick and masonry building and I think it could have even been a shelter, and it was destroyed,” Ken Lortz, the UAW’s regional director, told Automotive News today. “It’s a total loss. There are members there trying to salvage what they can, but it’s tough.

“One of the members had UAW memorabilia dating back to the founding of the union; we called it a museum and it could all just be gone. Beyond the hall, there were at least 50 homes in the area that were destroyed. The second floor of one was lying in the street in front of the hall.”

There are three UAW locals in the Kokomo area: 1166, 292 and 685, which is the largest. Local 685 represents about 4,200 workers at the nearby Chrysler transmission plant, which did not sustain any damage. Local 1166 represents workers at a Chrysler casting plant and Local 292 represents Delphi workers. None of those operations reported damage.

Lortz said the Local 292 hall was damaged when a tree fell on the building and broke the back wall, but he says the union is still using the building. He said the 1166 hall did not sustain any damage.

“The three chapters work together in the area and I think the plan is to relocate 685 into 1166 during cleanup and rebuilding, but they will rebuild,” Lortz said.

A video posted by Local 685 member Mike Rankert shows union members inside what is left of the building, trying to assess the damage and salvage anything they can.

The video ends with a statement from Local 685 President Rich Boruff, saying, “We will rebuild our home; you have my word on that.”

Local 685 President Rich Boruff to his members: “We will rebuild our home; you have my word on that.”

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez