GM hires 400 workers at Indiana plant to rev up truck production

GM hires 400 workers at Indiana plant to rev up truck production
Tue, Jul 23

General Motors Co. has added more than 400 hourly and salaried workers at its Fort Wayne Assembly Plant in Roanoke, Ind., to help with production of GM’s revamped full-size trucks

, which began in mid-July.

The automaker hired the employees over the past 14 months as it prepared to begin building the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra pickups, plant spokeswoman Stephanie Jentgen said.

The plant’s employment has grown as GM hired temporary employees and brought some sub-assembly work into the plant that had been done outside, she said.

“Because it’s a more complex truck

, there’s more jobs on the line,” she said in a telephone interview.

Fort Wayne Assembly has 4,452 employees who work three shifts. About 4,100 hourly workers are represented by UAW Local 2209.

GM launched production for the 2014 Silverado and Sierra in late April at its Silao plant in Mexico. GM’s Flint Truck Assembly Plant also will make heavy-duty versions of the pickups. The heavy-duty trucks have not been revealed by the automaker.

Fort Wayne Assembly did not produce vehicles

for three weeks, with a two-week shutdown running June 24 through July 5 and a layoff the following week through July 12, according to UAW Local 2209.

The union website says production of 2013 model-year trucks ended in June.

Trucks produced in Fort Wayne should arrive in dealerships by late summer. Trucks made in Silao have already begun to make their way into dealerships, particularly in Southern states, GM said.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez