NLRB likely to certify UAW to represent Flex-N-Gate workers at Texas plant

NLRB likely to certify UAW to represent Flex-N-Gate workers at Texas plant

Vince Bond Jr.
Automotive News | May 10, 2013 – 3:48 pm EST
The National Labor Relations Board likely will issue a certification today confirming the UAW as bargaining representative for hourly workers at a Flex-N-Gate Corp. plant in Arlington, Texas.

The board held an election May 1 in which 51 workers voted in favor of union representation and 22 opposed. The company had a week to appeal.

Ofelia Gonzalez, assistant to the regional director of the NLRB’s office in Fort Worth, Texas, confirmed today that Flex-N-Gate declined to appeal.

Flex-N-Gate is owned by Shahid Khan, a Pakistan-born billionaire who also owns the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars in Florida.

Last week, the company indicated it wouldn’t contest the decision.

“Our employees have always had the freedom of choice to organize, and we will always respect the decision they make,” the company said in a statement.

The UAW’s organizing drive at the plant has had difficulties. Workers have been illegally terminated or disciplined for trying to unionize there, according to an NLRB order and decision issued in June.

The plant sequences products for General Motors’ nearby Arlington assembly plant.

Flex-N-Gate, incorporated in 1956 and headquartered in Urbana, Ill., ranks No. 56 on the Automotive News list of the top 100 global suppliers with worldwide parts sales to automakers of $3.41 billion in 2011.

The supplier, whose customers include the Detroit 3, employs more than 12,000 people at 59 sites worldwide. About 90 percent of its automotive business takes place in North America, Automotive News research shows.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez