CAW, GM negotiations temporarily suspended

CAW, GM negotiations temporarily suspended
Wed, Apr 3

The Canadian Auto

Workers Local 88 union said Wednesday that formal negotiations with General Motors Co. to reach a new contract for hourly workers at GM’s CAMI assembly plant have been temporarily suspended as the parties review “a number of issues.”

The announcement follows Monday meetings in Detroit between CAW Local 88 leaders and CAW national leadership with GM senior managers, according to a bargaining update posted Wednesday on CAW Local 88’s website.

“There were extensive discussions on issues related to our current bargaining,” according to the update. “We are now awaiting further materials and numbers to review.”

GM Canada spokeswoman Adria MacKenzie said the sides remain engaged and have ongoing dialogue.

“There is still more work to be done to enhance the competitiveness of our Canadian operations and we will continue to work with the CAW to identify opportunities to improve,” she wrote in an email to The Detroit News.

Workers at the CAMI plant build the popular Chevrolet Equinox and GMC Terrain crossovers


“It will be business as usual in the plant as we endeavor to work toward a new collective agreement,” the CAW Local 88 update said.

GM’s CAMI plant employs 2,700 workers, including 2,400 hourly employees who build the vehicles

on three shifts.

Last month, GM announced it plans to invest $250 million into the assembly plant in Ingersoll, Ontario, and will add flexible body shop tooling and equipment and change the manufacturing line to bring vehicles to market faster. The union said Wednesday those plans will continue.

Late last month, the union canceled a scheduled contract ratification vote it had set for March 24 to continue bargaining.

GM’s contract with the CAW for CAMI hourly workers expires at 11:59 p.m. on Sept. 16.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier