GM set to unveil 2014 pickups

October 22, 2012
GM set to unveil 2014 pickups
General Motors Co. said Monday it will unveil its new full-size 2014 pickup trucks at a media event in Pontiac on Dec. 13 — a key vehicle line for the automaker.

GM said it will show off the Chevrolet 1500 full-size pickup and GMC Sierra at an event at Michigan Motion Picture Studios in Pontiac.

“The bold exterior design of the new Silverado reflects the enhanced capabilities of the truck while features such as jewel-like, projector beam headlamps showcase the careful attention given to every detail,” GM said. “The new Silverado will be on public display for the first time at the 2013 North American International Auto Show in January, and will start production next year.”

GM has not released a production schedule for the new trucks, but analysts and suppliers have indicated the new trucks likely would begin production in late spring 2013.

In a teaser photo Monday, GM showed the front headlamp, including the jewel-like projector beam, and a small piece of the grille. The new trucks also are expected to have a significantly revamped interior, with new features to complement buyers’ work and personal needs.

The all-new Silverado is among 13 new or significantly refreshed models Chevy expects to debut in 2013. The Chevy brand also in 2013 will release an all-new Silverado heavy-duty truck and Tahoe, among other vehicles.

Login Status
You are not logged in.
Seniority Lists
Internal Job Postings
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Gary Goforth
Mike Danford
Danny Taylor
Steve Roberts
Jay Minella
Steve Homrich
Chris Brown
Richie Griffith

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Joe DiCataldo
Sgt. at Arms
Norman Jenks
Ken Buck
E-Board at Large (2)
Paul Taylor
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Voith Unit Chair
Larry Heflin
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier