Texas auto writers name Chrysler’s Ram 1500 best in state

October 22, 2012
Texas auto writers name Chrysler’s Ram 1500 best in state
By BRYCE G. HOFFMAN / The Detroit News
Chrysler Group LLC’s new 2013 Ram 1500 has been named “Truck of Texas” by the Texas Auto Writers Association, which also named Ram “Truck Line of Texas.”

The group, which is made up of automotive writers and reviewers from Texas, also gave its award for “Luxury Pickup Truck of Texas” to the Ram 1500 Laramie Edition.

Members of the association evaluated the Ram and competing models in the group’s annual “Texas Truck Rodeo.”

“Automotive reporters have reacted extremely favorably to the new 2013 Ram 1500, and our research tells us that resonates with truck buyers,” said Ram Truck President Fred Diaz. “Texas is Ram’s biggest market and we’ve worked relentlessly to build powerful trucks with best-in-class fuel economy and capability for our customers. The pickup market is fiercely competitive and we are proud the Texas Auto Writers have awarded Ram trucks with these coveted titles.”

More than 50 association members evaluated more than 60 pickups, SUVs and crossover vehicles in two days of testing.

“Our members overwhelmingly chose the 2013 Ram 1500 as the Truck of Texas and the truck for Texans. The new Ram 1500 is amazing,” said Michael Herzing, president of the association. “The new technologies in this truck are true game changers and raise the bar for the competition. You’ve got to love how tough, capable, comfortable and fuel efficient this new truck is, especially for Texans who frequently drive long distances. Until we drove it, we couldn’t believe a truck this nice and capable could achieve 25 miles to a gallon like the Ram does. It blew our members away.”


Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez