GM workers in Canada approve new 4-year contract

GM workers in Canada approve new 4-year contract

Automotive News | September 27, 2012 – 7:23 pm EST
UPDATED: 9/27/12 11:29 pm ET — adds Ford vote tally

TORONTO (Reuters) — Unionized workers at General Motors’ Canadian operations have voted in favor of a four-year labor agreement with the company, the Canadian Auto Workers union said.

The CAW said 73 percent of the GM workers who voted backed the deal.

The GM agreement includes a $3,000 quality and productivity bonus for workers upon ratification as well as cost of living lump sum payments of $2,000 in each of 2013, 2014 and 2015. It offers protection of current pension benefits for existing workers, as well as investment and employment commitments in all locations.

The GM ratification is the second deal to be finalized with a Detroit 3 automaker in Canada after unionized workers at Ford Motor Co. last Sunday voted in favor of a similar agreement with the automaker. The CAW said 82 percent of voting Ford workers supported the contract.

Workers at Fiat SpA’s Chrysler Group LLC will vote on their agreement with the CAW on Saturday and Sunday. The union and Chrysler reached a tentative four-year agreement late on Thursday.

The GM ratification was widely expected although talks leading up to the agreement were tough as GM, like the other two automakers, insisted that labor costs had to come down.

Under the GM deal, the company has committed to creating about 900 new jobs at its Canadian operations by adding a third shift to its “flex” line in Oshawa, Ontario.

Mirroring the Ford deal, the GM agreement freezes wages for existing workers for the first three years but provides for a cost-of-living adjustment in the fourth year. Workers will also get a series of lump-sum bonuses. New hires will start at a lower hourly rate than under the previous contract and take longer to reach the top level of the pay scale.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez