GM begins $380M Mo. plant expansion

May 22, 2012
GM begins $380M Mo. plant expansion
Wentzville factory to build next generation of midsize pickups
By MELISSA BURDEN / The Detroit News
General Motors Co. broke ground Monday on a $380 million expansion at its Wentzville, Mo., assembly plant, where the automaker will build the next generation of midsize pickups, a move that will retain or create about 1,260 jobs.

GM has given no details yet on when the plant 500,000-square-foot expansion may be finished or if it will build additional products at the plant.

“This is the first of many of what we hope are many good news announcements” at the plant, said GM spokeswoman Stephanie Jentgen.

Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon attended the groundbreaking and in a news release said the Wentzville plant would have more than 3,000 workers once the new generation of trucks begins production in 2014. The company is eligible for incentives over 10 years provided it meets investment and employment targets.

The Wentzville plant, near St. Louis, currently builds the full-size Chevrolet Express and GMC Savana vans and has nearly 2,100 salaried and hourly employees.

In October 2011, GM announced the addition of a second shift with about 400 employees at the existing facility, which started early this year.

GM North America President Mark Reuss previously told The Detroit News that the redesigned midsize truck will come to the market immediately after the automaker launches all-new versions of its full-size pickups as 2014 models.

Reuss said the midsize pickups may not be called the Chevrolet Colorado as they are now. GM also sells a similar GMC Canyon pickup.

GM in the fall announced the job and investment plans at the plant. The company, in its four-year pact with the UAW reached in fall 2011, has agreed to invest $2.5 billion and save or add about 6,400 jobs in the U.S.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez