GM to build $200 million stamping plant in Texas

GM to build $200 million stamping plant in Texas
Danielle Emerson
Automotive News | January 31, 2012 – 1:10 pm EST

General Motors said today that it will start construction next week on a $200 million stamping plant in Arlington, Texas, creating about 180 jobs.

The plant will be part of the company’s Arlington manufacturing complex and is scheduled to start production in 2013. It will produce large stamping components for the next generation of Chevrolet Tahoes, Suburbans, GMC Yukons and Cadillac Escalades.

Arlington currently receives stamped components from several GM plants.

The new plant will save GM about $40 million a year in logistics cost, the company said in a statement.

Last May, GM said it would invest $331 million in the Texas assembly plant for expansion and to purchase tooling and equipment.

Joe Ashton, vice president of the UAW representing the GM department, said in a statement that today’s announcement was further evidence that the U.S. auto industry is recovering.

“An important goal for the UAW is to increase the number of manufacturing jobs in the United States, and we are pleased that General Motors has decided to make this investment in Arlington,” he said in the statement.

GM says it has committed more than $6.9 billion of investments to upgrade or expand operation in 12 states since June 2009, creating or retaining more than 17,600 jobs.

Login Status
You are not logged in.
Seniority Lists
Internal Job Postings
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Gary Goforth
Mike Danford
Danny Taylor
Steve Roberts
Jay Minella
Steve Homrich
Chris Brown
Richie Griffith

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Joe DiCataldo
Sgt. at Arms
Norman Jenks
Ken Buck
E-Board at Large (2)
Paul Taylor
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Voith Unit Chair
Larry Heflin
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier