Email List Sign Up

Chrysler hiring to build Dart in Illinois factory

January 26, 2012
Chrysler hiring to build Dart in Illinois factory
Many jobs temporary or part time; model due in showrooms by spring
By BRYCE G. HOFFMAN / The Detroit News
Chrysler Group LLC has begun hiring hundreds of factory workers to support the launch of the new Dodge Dart at its Belvidere Assembly Plant in Illinois.

But most of the positions are temporary or part time.

“We’re hiring to staff for Dodge Dart production,” Chrysler spokeswoman Jodi Tinson said Wednesday. “That process has already started.”

In addition to the temporary and part-time assembly line jobs, the company is looking for a few permanent, full-time skilled trades workers.

There are openings for pipefitters, electricians and tool-and-die makers at the Belvidere factory.

Chrysler unveiled the 2013 Dodge Dart at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit this month.

The sporty compact is based on the same platform as the Alfa Romeo Giuletta and represents the first fruit of the Auburn Hills automaker’s 2009 marriage to Italy’s Fiat SpA, at least in the American market. Fiat recently launched a five-door crossover, the Freemont, which shares a common architecture with the Dodge Journey.

The Dart is expected to arrive in showrooms this spring.

It replaces the Dodge Caliber, which also was built in Belvidere.

Production of the Caliber ended in December, but the Illinois assembly plant still produces two Jeep models: the Compass and the Patriot. It currently employs more than 2,500 workers on two shifts.

The Fiat-Chrysler group has invested hundreds of millions of dollars in the plant to support assembly of the Dart and other future products.

CEO Sergio Marchionne is slated to visit the factory on Feb. 2 to officially inaugurate production of the Dart.

Chrysler said those interested in applying for one of the new assembly line jobs should fill out an application at

Those interested in skilled trades positions should visit

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier