Pop quiz: Which brands and nameplates died in 2011?

Pop quiz: Which brands and nameplates died in 2011?
Automotive News | December 29, 2011 – 12:58 pm EST

Rick Kranz is product editor for Automotive News.

The auto industry runs fast and furious. Each year there are winners and losers.

If you are looking for a New Year’s Eve game to test your friends’ automotive IQ, here’s an idea. Get some pencils and paper, and ask them to write down what automaker, brands and nameplates were dropped in 2011.

Give 10 points for naming the automaker correctly, eight points for naming each brand, and five points for each nameplate.

This calendar year marks the end of one automaker, two brands and 26 models, according to a list that appears on the Motor Trend Web site.

Specifically, Saab’s automotive history ended when the automaker filed for liquidation in a Swedish court recently.

Daimler AG pulled the plug on Maybach, its ultrapremium brand, and Ford Motor Co. dropped Mercury, a brand that was little more than a Ford.

By the way, while the Lincoln Town Car sedan was killed off, the Town Car name will appear on a livery version based on the MKT next year, so I did not include it on this list.

These are the nameplates — some with a legacy of decades — that were abandoned in 2011:

Buick Lucerne

Cadillac STS

Chevrolet Aveo

Chevrolet HHR

Dodge Caliber

Dodge Dakota

Dodge Nitro

Ferrari 612 Scaglietti

Ford Crown Victoria

Ford Ranger

Honda Element

Mercury Grand Marquis

Lotus Elise

Lotus Exige

Mazda RX-8

Mazda Tribute

Maybach 57

Maybach 62

Mitsubishi Eclipse

Mitsubishi Endeavor

Saab 9-3

Saab 9-4X

Saab 9-5

Tesla Roadster

Volvo S40

Volvo V50

I hope you and your friends enjoy playing the game.

Happy New Year!

Login Status
You are not logged in.
Seniority Lists
Internal Job Postings
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Gary Goforth
Mike Danford
Danny Taylor
Steve Roberts
Jay Minella
Steve Homrich
Chris Brown
Richie Griffith

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Joe DiCataldo
Sgt. at Arms
Norman Jenks
Ken Buck
E-Board at Large (2)
Paul Taylor
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Voith Unit Chair
Larry Heflin
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier