GM suspends output at Cruze plant in Ohio

GM suspends output at Cruze plant in Ohio

Automotive News | December 12, 2011 – 6:29 pm EST

DETROIT (Reuters) — General Motors suspended production on Monday afternoon at an Ohio plant that makes the Chevrolet Cruze compact car due to a supplier issue.

Production at the Lordstown, Ohio, factory was halted around 1 p.m. ET. Employees on the first and second shifts worked shortened schedules, while the third shift was suspended, GM Lordstown spokesman Tom Mock said.

Mock said skilled trade workers at the plant are due to report to work their regular hours.

GM spokesman Chris Lee declined to describe the nature of the supplier issue, saying only that the automaker was looking to restart production as swiftly as possible.

So far this year, the Cruze is the second best-selling small car in the U.S. market, behind the Toyota Corolla/Matrix, and the 10th best-selling vehicle overall as consumers seek more fuel efficient options.

GM Chief Executive Dan Akerson said this month that he hoped the Cruze, which gets up to 42 miles per gallon, would become the top-selling car by the end of 2011.

The Cruze has outsold Honda Motor Co’s Civic, a longtime leader in the small car segment, and Ford Motor Co’s Focus.

The Ohio plant was idled for a week last month to adjust inventories of the Cruze.

GM declines to describe the nature of the supplier issue, saying only that the automaker aims to restart Cruze output quickly.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez