GM to pay UAW workers about $12 million in quality bonuses

GM to pay UAW workers about $12 million in quality bonuses

Automotive News | December 7, 2011 – 2:34 pm EST

DETROIT (Bloomberg) — General Motors Co., 10 weeks after ratifying a new labor contract with the UAW, said union hourly employees achieved vehicle-quality targets and will be eligible for about $12 million in bonuses.

The $250 bonus per eligible worker will be paid out in employees’ Dec. 16 paychecks, Kim Carpenter, a GM spokeswoman, said today in a phone interview. The “vast majority” of the automaker’s 48,500 UAW-represented workers are eligible, she said, without giving more specifics.

CEO Dan Akerson has said GM’s new four-year labor contract keeps the automaker competitive by only marginally boosting the company’s $5 billion annual labor tab. Senior workers won’t receive a base wage increase and the union accepted that some pay would be based on GM’s profitability.

Annual quality bonuses are dependent on GM’s target for incidents per 1,000 vehicles that have been in service for two months, Carpenter said.

“We were 98 percent of our target, and so the payout is $250 per eligible UAW employee,” she said.

GM gave wage increases for entry-level workers, $5,000 signing bonuses and other benefits that the company estimates will total $675 million in costs through 2013. The automaker estimates it will get $460 million in savings to partially offset those payouts, according to a Sept. 28 presentation to analysts.

Labor costs will rise 1 percent a year, which is the smallest increase in a GM contract in four decades, the automaker said in September.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez