White House to honor Hamtramck UAW official

November 3, 2011 http://detnews.com/article/20111103/AUTO01/111030414

White House to honor Hamtramck UAW official


Hamtramck— The White House plans to honor a Michigan-based United Auto Workers member for his work in helping to create high-quality jobs in the United States.

Don LaForest is one of 15 individuals and businesses being recognized Thursday as Champions of Change.

The program was created as part of President Barack Obama’s Winning the Future initiative. Each week, a different issue is highlighted, and groups of Champions are recognized for the work they’re doing to better their communities.

LaForest has been a UAW member for 36 years and is the chairman of the union’s bargaining committee at the General Motors Detroit-Hamtramck Assembly Plant, which produces the Chevrolet Volt.

The White House says he’s responsible for negotiating changes to the local agreement that improved competitiveness and attracted nearly $500 million in investment.

Login Status
You are not logged in.
Seniority Lists
Internal Job Postings
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Gary Goforth
Mike Danford
Danny Taylor
Steve Roberts
Jay Minella
Steve Homrich
Chris Brown
Richie Griffith

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Joe DiCataldo
Sgt. at Arms
Norman Jenks
Ken Buck
E-Board at Large (2)
Paul Taylor
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Voith Unit Chair
Larry Heflin
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier