Former Delphi CEO Battenberg ordered to pay $215,000 judgment

Former Delphi CEO Battenberg ordered to pay $215,000 judgment

Automotive News | October 31, 2011 – 8:04 pm EST
UPDATED: 11/1/11 9:22 am ET

DETROIT (Bloomberg) — Former Delphi Corp. CEO J. T. Battenberg III must pay a $215,000 for violating U.S. securities laws by misrepresenting a $237 million payment to General Motors Corp., a U.S. judge ruled on Monday.

U.S. District Judge Avern Cohn in Detroit entered that judgment against Battenberg and a $118,500 sanction against former top Delphi accountant Paul Free. A Detroit jury in January found the men misrepresented the GM payment and found Free committed wrongdoing in three other transactions in 2000 and 2001.

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission sued the men in 2006. While the jury found the men had represented the GM payment, it cleared the men of claims they committed fraud or helped the Delphi violate securities laws in the transaction.

“The remedies are for the court to decide,” Cohn said in separate memoranda explaining his rationale for each assessment.

Once the biggest U.S. auto-parts supplier, Delphi filed for bankruptcy protection after failing to win wage cuts and financial assistance from its former corporate parent, GM.

Delphi emerged from bankruptcy court protection in 2009.

Attorneys for the Battenberg and Free said during trial there was no attempt to mislead investors and their clients didn’t commit fraud. The jury agreed there had been no fraud.

Battenberg’s lawyer, William Jeffress, didn’t immediately reply to a request for comment e-mailed after hours. Free’s lawyer, Matthew Lund, didn’t immediately reply to an after-hours e-mailed request for comment.

J.T. Battenberg

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez