GM to spend $131M to prep Kentucky plant for next-gen Corvette

GM to spend $131M to prep Kentucky plant for next-gen Corvette
Mike Colias
Automotive News | May 4, 2011 – 12:49 pm EST

General Motors said today it will spend $131 million to prepare its Bowling Green, Ky., plant to build the next-generation Corvette.

GM said assembly of the current-generation Corvette will continue at the plant for at least the next two model years, including the 2012 model that goes into production this summer. Work to prepare the plant for the next iteration will occur during that time, adding about 250 jobs.

The Corvette has been assembled at the Bowling Green plant since 1981. Nearly 400 production workers assemble the cars on a one-shift, Monday-through-Thursday schedule. The workers are represented by UAW Local 2164.

“This is a significant day for anyone who believes that America should build world-class, high-performance products,” Mark Reuss, GM North America president, said in a statement. He made the announcement at the plant today alongside Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear.

The current version is the sixth generation in the Corvette’s 58-year history. GM says about 50,000 visitors a year tour the plant.

GM sold 4,293 Corvettes from January through April, a 22 percent increase from the same period last year. In April, Corvette sales totaled 1,454 units, a 34 percent jump over April 2010.

Photo credit: BLOOMBERG


Entire contents ©2011 Crain Communications, Inc.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez