Salaried bonuses ready-made for UAW bulletin boards

Salaried bonuses ready-made for UAW bulletin boards
Automotive News | February 11, 2011 – 12:12 pm EST

Here’s a gentle reminder to Detroit 3 CEOs Dan Akerson, Alan Mulally and Sergio Marchionne:

You’re in a negotiating year with the UAW.

The huge salaried bonuses you’ve OK’d — which dwarf those of hourly autoworkers — are not playing well on the assembly line.

Chrysler Group’s average 2010 bonus for a salaried workers will reportedly be $10,000 — or more than 13 times the $750 each hourly worker will receive.

Gary Walkowicz, a UAW bargaining committeeman representing workers at the Ford Rouge plant in Dearborn, Mich., said the outsized salaried bonuses show that the automaker has the money and apparent willingness to cut select workers a bigger share of the company’s success.

He said he and many of his co-workers want a real raise as part of a new labor contract to be negotiated in September, not just a bonus like the ones hourly workers received this year.

Raises, after all, have the advantage of accruing and compounding over time.

“This is just one more reason to push harder to get back the concessions we’ve given up,” said Walkowicz, who ran a protest campaign against Bob King at last year’s UAW convention for the union’s presidency.

Those concessions by the Detroit 3’s 120,000 UAW-represented workers have totaled $7,000 to $30,000 per worker since 2005, by King’s own account.

King wants to claw back some of those sacrifices when he goes to negotiate new labor agreements with Detroit automakers this year. The current four-year contracts expire in September.

These new salaried bonuses will make those master talks just that much more interesting.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez