UAW chief: Workers need to share in auto prosperity

UAW chief: Workers need to share in auto prosperity Friday, January 07, 2011By Keith Naughton, Bloomberg News SOUTHFIELD, Mich. — United Auto Workers President Bob King says union members’ sacrifices allowed U.S. automakers to survive and that workers deserve to share in the industry’s new prosperity.
“All the sacrifices that our members made to turn these companies around were part of the process that’s really led to this amazing turnaround,” Mr. King said. “We want our membership to share in a very meaningful way in the upside of these companies.”
Mr. King, 64, will negotiate new contracts this year with General Motors, Ford and Chrysler. While the accords don’t expire until September, Mr. King said he was already discussing with the companies how to reward workers. He has said UAW members each gave $7,000 to $30,000 in concessions to automakers since 2005.
GM, Ford and Chrysler on Tuesday reported their U.S. sales rose 13 percent last year. Their combined U.S. market share rose to 45.1 percent, from 44.2 percent, while Asian automakers lost ground, according to researcher Autodata Corp. of Woodcliff Lake, N.J. That came a year after GM and Chrysler went bankrupt and after Ford lost $30 billion from 2006 through 2008.
“We’ve expressed very strongly” the union’s view to GM, Ford and Chrysler, Mr. King said. “And they’re very interested in finding a way to make sure our members do share in the upside.”
A GM spokeswoman, Kimberly Carpenter, said GM was talking with the UAW about how to compensate workers.
“We have had some preliminary discussions on the topic, but those discussions are ongoing,” Ms. Carpenter said in an e-mailed statement. “We won’t be sharing any details externally until the discussions are finalized and we share the information with our work force.”
To help the automakers survive, the union surrendered raises, bonuses and cost-of-living adjustments.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez