Email List Sign Up

Decision Soon on GM Property

WSB News

Decision Soon on GM Property


Jon Lewis

@ August 23, 2010 6:04 AM Permalink | Comments (4)

(WSB Radio)  What will be the fate of the old General Motors plant property in Doraville?

The deadline for a decision by the DeKalb County commission is fast approaching.

Commissioners will address the matter at their regular meeting on Tuesday morning.

At issue is whether the county should spend $35 million in stimulus money to buy the land for use by a developer. 

DeKalb CEO Burrel Ellis thinks the proposal is a good one for the county.

"DeKalb County is making an investment into the project," he tells Channel Two Action News.  "It will be a co-owner.  It will lease the land to a private developer."

But not every member of the commission thinks having the county buy the land with federal stimulus money is a good idea.

"The real purpose of the stimulus was, I believe, to promote jobs and to promote infrastructure projects," says Commissioner Elaine Boyer.

But Ellis says buying the property will mean jobs, and a lot of them.

"We have an opportunity to create 9000 construction jobs and to put real wages back into the pockets of DeKalb County citizens."

Boyer says the proposed developer has put together a wonderful project, but, "really, we don’t get anything out of it.  and there’s no guarantee that thing will be built."

Another big issue: how much will Doraville contribute to the project. There is no agreement on that right now between the county and the city.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier