Email List Sign Up

The full list: Newly elected UAW officers

Posted: 10:15 a.m. June 17, 2010

The full list: Newly elected
UAW officers


The following UAW officials were elected
Wednesday to serve as the UAW’s top officers for
the next four years during the UAW’s 35th
Constitutional Convention in Detroit:

• Bob King, was vice president and director of
the UAW
Ford, Severstal and supplier
departments, was elected president.
• Dennis Williams, a director of the UAW Region
4 in Chicago, was elected secretary-treasurer of
the UAW. Williams was elected director of UAW
Region 4 at a special convention in 2001 and re-
elected in 2002 and 2006 at the UAW
Constitutional Conventions in Las Vegas. Region
4 includes Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana,
Nebraska, North
Dakota, South Dakota,
Wisconsin and Wyoming.
• Joe Ashton, director of the UAW Region 9 in
New York, was elected president, sources say he
will likely appoint Ashton to lead the UAW’s
General Motors department, replacing Cal
Rapson. Ashton played a key role in contract
negotiations between the UAW and companies
such as SPD
Technologies Magna (formerly New
Venture Gear), Dana and Boeing, and worked to
help 2,400 workers at A. K. Steel in Butler, Pa.
• Jimmy Settles, a UAW vice president since
2006, was elected for a second term as vice
president. Sources expect King will appoint
Settles to lead the UAW’s Ford department.
Before he was a vice president, Settles served as a
regional director and played a lead role in
successful organizing campaigns at
parts suppliers such as Johnson Controls, Arvin
Meritor, GKN Sinter Metals, ACI, Bridgewater
Interiors and Hollingsworth. Settles joined UAW
Local 600 in Dearborn when he became a Ford
• Cindy Estrada, director of the UAW national
organizing department, was elected vice
president and is the UAW’s first union’s first
Latina vice president.
• General Holiefield, UAW vice president, was
elected for a second term as vice president.
Sources expect Holiefield will likely continue to
lead the UAW’s
Chrysler department. Holiefield
has been a UAW member since 1973, when he w
ent to work at Chrysler’s Jefferson assembly
plant in Detroit.

Retiring UAW officers

• Ron Gettelfinger, has served two four-year
terms as president. Gettelfinger served as
director of UAW Region 3, which represents
members in Indiana and Kentucky, before being
elected a UAW vice president in 1998.
• Cal Rapson, vice president, has served two
terms as vice president and oversees the GM
department. Rapson previously served as director
of UAW Region 1C in Flint, a post he was elected
to in 1998.
• Elizabeth Bunn, served two terms as secretary-
treasurer — the highest post held by a woman in
the union’s history. She was elected vice
president in 1998.
Sources: UAW, Free Press research, interviews

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier