Gettelfinger says King will grow the UAW membership


Gettelfinger says King will grow the UAW membership

Automotive News | June 15, 2010 – 9:15 am EST


DETROIT — UAW President Ron Gettelfinger said this morning that he gave his farewell speech yesterday with some sadness, but he believes his proposed successor, Bob King, will bring an aggressive approach to growing the union.

Interviewed before the start of the second day of the UAW National Constitutional Convention here, Gettelfinger said yesterday’s speech was not his best because he won’t be in a position to follow up his call to action after he retires this week.

"It was not one of my better speeches because things are coming to an end. I’m not talking about where we are going in the future," Gettelfinger said as he greeted delegates before today’s program.

"It was a farewell speech," he said. "And I especially wanted to let the men and women of the UAW know how much I appreciate them giving me this opportunity."

Gettelfinger, elected to the first of two terms as president eight years ago, has guided the UAW through perhaps the most tumultuous period in the union’s 75 years of existence. As the Detroit 3 has shrunk and closed plants, UAW membership has fallen from about 575,000 when Gettelfinger, 65, took the helm in 2002 to about 355,000 today.

Gettelfinger said King, 63, is an aggressive, high-energy leader who has been on the executive board of the UAW since 1989.

"He knows that we need to find a way to grow the union," Gettelfinger said.

King is expected to be elected Wednesday to replace Gettelfinger. He has served as vice president of the UAW Ford department.

Gettelfinger said his days of pushing the union’s agenda to the companies and Congress are about over. But he will be around in retirement to advise as needed.

Said Gettelfinger: "One thing about the UAW is that you never retire from being a member."

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez