UAW’s Bob King: Getting back benefits will be major topic at convention


UAW’s Bob King: Getting back benefits will be major topic at convention

Automotive News | June 14, 2010 – 9:45 am EST


DETROIT — Bob King, the prohibitive favorite to become the next UAW president, said this morning that concessions and the need to restore lost benefits to the union’s members will be a theme here at this week’s UAW National Constitutional Convention.

In an interview before the formal convention begins today, King said the union leadership would provide a forum for workers and delegates to air their views on concessions.

The constitutional convention typically is where broad policy decisions are formed and officers are elected. Next year’s collective bargaining convention is where bargaining tactics will be solidified before 2011 master contract talks with the Detroit 3.

“Technically, where we talk about collective bargaining is next March. But any issue that is on the minds of our membership, we always talk about,” said King, 63, who is expected to replace the retiring Ron Gettelfinger after Wednesday’s election of officers.

UAW dissident Gary Walkowicz is opposing King for the presidency to call attention to the sacrifices that rank-and-file workers made during the auto recession.

Walkowicz, a bargaining committeeman at Ford Motor Co.’s truck plant in Dearborn, Mich., said he will push to end concessions and prepare workers this week to fight for the restoration of benefits lost over the past three years.

At a speech last month, King estimated that workers have given up $7,000 to $30,000 a year in compensation and benefits to aid the automakers.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez