Email List Sign Up

Detroit Lions Sold to Japanese Auto Maker

Detroit Lions Sold to Japanese Auto Maker | Football Blogger

June 3rd, 2010 | by admin |

Yes, this is breaking news! Ford President, William Clay Ford, great-grandson to Henry Ford announced earlier today that he has sold the Detroit Lions to rival Japanese auto maker Toyota.

In a stunning move that has outraged NFL owners, fans and it’s base of loyal customers of nearly 100 years, the Ford family made an extravagant decision to sell the franchise to it’s overseas rival.

Ford says “sale was necessary to keep company afloat” and it was a “very painful decision” that had to be made.

Industry experts claim is a valiant attempt to save the struggling auto maker and to protect the family fortune, as well.

This news comes on the heels of a recent news article claiming that the Japanese auto maker Toyota, is set to put the nail into the coffin of Ford, after unseating the full size truck leader with it’s newest version of the Toyota Tundra.

Insiders speculate that the new owners are contemplating renaming the team, “The Tundra” and also renaming the field, possibly to the “Toyota Dome” or Toyota Field”.

“I am outraged, that something like this could happen” say UAW President Ron Gettelfinger, in a statement to news reporters outside a Chicago Hotel.

Also outraged was Troy Vanderstelt, a local Lions and Tigers Fan. Troy says that he plans on boycotting the new team and will sell his season tickets on eBay.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier