GM suing firm for hydrogen fuel pump crash

GM suing firm for hydrogen fuel pump crash

Published: May 2, 2010 at 2:45 PM


DETROIT, May 2 (UPI) — General Motors Co. is suing a hauler it says hasn’t accepted responsibility for a crash that destroyed the automaker’s innovative hydrogen fuel-dispensing pump.

The $850,000 fuel station was destroyed two years ago when a semi rig, en route from Pennsylvania to California, crashed in an Arizona canyon during a windstorm, The Detroit News reported Sunday. In its suit filed in U.S. District Court last week, GM seeks to recover the cost of the 45,000-pound station plus expenses from CHAT of Michigan Inc. of Romulus, Mich.

"GM has been trying for two years to recover the cost of the hydrogen refueler that was destroyed in this crash," GM spokesman Alan Adler told the News. "The incident delayed the rollout of Project Driveway — the largest demonstration of fuel cell vehicles in the world — by three to four months."

CHAT of Michigan President Greg Katcher told the newspaper his firm did not violate its contract with GM because the accident was "an act of God." He said his company has a good history of transporting the fuel pumps before and after the crash.

"I have a 21-year track record with GM, and we’ve never had a screw-up," he said.

GM says CHAT of Michigan violated the contract by subcontracting the hauling job to Landstar Ranger Inc., which in turn subcontracted the work to Professional Trucking LLC.

© 2010 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier