Grand Rapids GM workers are eligible for retraining assistance, tax credits, cash benefits

Grand Rapids GM workers are eligible for retraining assistance, tax credits, cash benefits

By Chris Knape | The Grand Rapids Press

March 26, 2010, 10:01AM

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor today announced General Motors workers in the Grand Rapids area are among 3,500 former Michigan auto workers eligible for retraining assistance, tax credits and, in some cases, cash to make up some of the difference in wages between their old job and new job.

The program is designed to help retrain and place workers who lose their jobs. Workers covered by the Trade Adjustment Certifications will be contacted by state unemployment agencies with instructions on how to apply for benefits and services.

Those who apply may receive case management and re-employment services, training in new occupational skills and allowances that provide income support for workers enrolled in training. Some workers may also receive job search and relocation allowances and tax credits for health insurance premiums.

Workers 50 and older may elect to receive Re-employment Trade Adjustment Assistance. If a worker obtains new employment at wages less than $55,000 and less than those earned in the job they lost, the program will pay 50 percent of the difference between the old wage and the new wage, up to $12,000 over a two-year period.

Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez