NUMMI workers vote on severance package

NUMMI workers vote on severance package

Updated at 07:31 AM today


The severance package on the table is worth $281 million. A tentative agreement was reached Monday, but details have been minimal, pending the union’s vote.

NUMMI’s workers began voting at 5:00 Wednesday morning at the local United Auto Workers union office, right across the street from the NUMMI plant. Voting runs until 7 p.m. Wednesday night, and will also take place at the Fremont factory, which is still slated to close April 1st.


The tentative agreement affects about 4,700 UAW workers. Depending how long they’ve worked for NUMMI, Toyota is offering severance ranging from about $22,000 to $70,000.


Many workers don’t feel it’s a good deal. While the union believes members will ratify the agreement, many are upset that General Motors — which quit its partnership with Toyota last year as part of its bankruptcy– didn’t contribute any money towards the severance package.

Management at New United Motor Manufacturing, Inc. is offering retention bonuses to workers who stay on the job making cars through the final day.

The United Auto Workers union also says that it got a promise that payment will be issued about a month after the plant shuts, even if NUMMI files for bankruptcy. Other details of the closure agreement, still to be confirmed include that workers will have to pay for their own healthcare and that the union promises not to picket or demonstrate against Toyota.

More will be revealed at 11 a.m. when the union makes an announcement regarding the status of its severance negotiations, if the package isn’t approved, it’s back to the negotiation table.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier