Email List Sign Up

UAW: spare NUMMI

UAW: spare NUMMI

NAGOYA (Kyodo) The vice president of the largest U.S. autoworker union visited the headquarters of Toyota Motor Corp. on Tuesday, urging the carmaker to rethink its decision to shut its Fremont, Calif.-based factory, Toyota officials said.

United Auto Workers Vice President Bob King issued the appeal in a meeting with Toyota Executive Vice President Atsushi Niimi at the head office in Toyota, Aichi Prefecture.

King told Niimi the closure of New United Motor Manufacturing Inc., or NUMMI, will severely undermine employment in the local economy, according to the officials.

But a Toyota official said, "We do not intend to alter the plan to halt production as of April 1."

The UAW plea for a meeting between King and Toyota President Akio Toyoda was not granted, they said.

Last Aug. 28, Toyota announced its decision to close down NUMMI, which was founded in 1984 as a 50-50 joint venture with General Motors Corp. The U.S. auto giant was renamed General Motors Co. last year when it emerged from bankruptcy.

The California venture was established at the height of Japan-U.S. auto trade friction.

The venture, with about 4,700 workers, has been a major employer in the state, and California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger has asked Toyota not to shut the factory.

Toyota has said that after GM’s decision to pull out of the venture, it will not be able to run the factory profitably on its own.

Toyota has been manufacturing the Tacoma pickup truck and the Corolla sedan at the factory in recent years.


The Japan Times: Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier