UAW Freightliner workers win ruling against Daimler Trucks North America

For Release: Friday, January 29, 2010

UAW Freightliner workers win ruling against Daimler Trucks North America

MOUNT HOLLY, N.C. — An arbitrator has ruled that Daimler Trucks North America violated its agreement with UAW workers when it cut production at its North Carolina facilities and shifted the work to Mexico.

The arbitrator also ruled the company must compensate the members of UAW Local 5285 who were affected when it sent the work elsewhere.

According to arbitrator Robert B. Moberly, Daimler Trucks North America violated its agreement with workers at Freightliner Truck Manufacturing Plant in Mount Holly by cutting more than 900 workers there, while increasing truck production at a plant in Mexico.

"We are pleased that the ruling is in favor of the workers," said UAW President Ron Gettelfinger. "Our members stood up against having their jobs outsourced. It’s a victory that would not have been achieved without a union contract."

Moberly ordered Daimler Trucks to increase production at the Mount Holly plant to 70 percent of the M2 medium-duty trucks sold in the United States and Canada, as calculated on a monthly basis. The company must also compensate union workers who were laid off in October 2008 and March 2009 for their losses. The extent of those losses has yet to be determined.

"The arbitrator makes it clear that the company needs to keep its end of the deal. That is good for the workers and North Carolina’s economy," said UAW Vice President General Holiefield, director of the union’s Heavy Trucks Department.

"We look forward to working with the company to identify remedies that will get our members back to work as quickly as possible so they can provide for their families and support their community," said Gary Casteel, director of UAW Region 8, which includes North Carolina.


Seniority Lists
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez