Email List Sign Up

GM picks Microsoft CFO to run finances

December 21, 2009

GM picks Microsoft CFO to run finances

The Detroit News

General Motors Co. has tapped Chris Liddell, chief financial officer of Microsoft Corp., to be its new vice chairman and chief financial officer in the automaker’s latest shakeup of its top management team.

"Chris brings a depth and experience to this job that were unmatched in our search for a new financial leader," said GM Chairman and CEO Ed Whitacre. "Chris will lead our financial and accounting operations on a global basis and will report directly to me. We’re also looking to his experience and insights in corporate strategy as a member of the senior leadership team in helping our restructuring efforts."

Liddell replaces Ray Young, who becomes vice president of international operations. The Obama administration had been very critical of how GM’s financial operations were managed. The automaker had been looking for a new CFO for several months.

Liddell’s appointment comes less than two weeks after Whitacre ousted former CEO Fritz Henderson and made several key management changes that gave more responsibility to younger executives and moved women into important roles running GM’s sales and marketing operation, as well as manufacturing and labor relations.

Liddell, 51, has been the CFO of the Redmond, Wash.-based software giant since 2005. He will leave Microsoft on Dec. 31 and assume his new responsibilities at GM in the new year. Before Microsoft, Liddell was CFO of International Paper Co., the world’s largest forest products company. He also has investment banking experience and was a member of the Securities and Exchange Commission’s Advisory Committee on Improvements to Financial Reporting.

Liddell received an engineering degree from the University of Auckland, New Zealand, and a Master of Philosophy degree from Oxford University in England. He once served as director of the New Zealand Rugby Union and governor of the New Zealand Sports Foundation.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier