Email List Sign Up

GM hires new general manager for Buick GMC

December 1, 2009

GM hires new general manager for Buick GMC


General Motors Co. said Tuesday that it hired marketing consultant Michael Richards to be the new general manager of Buick GMC.

Richards, 52, replaces Susan Docherty, who was appointed GM vice president in charge of U.S. sales in October, GM said in a statement.

"Michael is an automotive industry veteran who brings extensive experience in both marketing and sales," said Bob Lutz, GM vice chairman with responsibility for marketing and communications.

Richards was most recently vice president of marketing and sales for the global automotive business at Trilogy, based in Austin, Texas. Prior to his time at Trilogy, he was a consultant to J.D. Power and Associates in Troy. In that capacity, he led the company’s efforts to develop products to improve customer satisfaction, market share and profitability for newly launched vehicles. He also developed a syndicated index to measure new vehicle launch performance.

"We are confident he will build on the positive momentum Buick GMC has with the 2010 Buick LaCrosse and GMC Terrain, as well as the upcoming Buick Regal," said Lutz, who made the appointment Tuesday. It takes effect immediately.

Buick and GMC are two of the four domestic brands that GM is keeping. It is also keeping Cadillac and Chevrolet and Adam Opel GmbH’s Opel brand in Europe.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier