Kansas Ford plant voting on strike over workload

November 12, 2009 http://detnews.com/article/20091112/AUTO01/911120474

Kansas Ford plant voting on strike over workload

The Detroit News

Workers at Ford Motor Co.’s Kansas City Assembly Plant in Claycomo, Mo., are holding a strike authorization vote today after a disagreement over workloads, but no work stoppage is expected.

The dispute began during the company’s annual "rebalancing" talks with the union, which are aimed at increasing the plant’s efficiency.

According to people familiar with the situation, the United Auto Workers feels that some of the proposed changes would give some workers too many tasks to perform. A strike vote is typically taken in such cases as a way of increasing pressure on the company, though these rarely result in actual work stoppages.

However, the situation at the Kansas City plant, which produces the Ford F-150 and Escape, the Mercury Mariner and the Mazda Tribute, remains volatile after 92 percent of UAW members there rejected a recent agreement on concessions between the union and Ford.

Ford spokeswoman Marcey Evans said senior managers are at the plant, negotiating directly with local leaders and leaders of the UAW’s national Ford section.

"We are working together with the union to address their concerns," she said. "We have a contractual process that we follow to address such issues, and this is part of that process."

While several strike votes have been taken nationwide, Evans noted that none have resulted in a work stoppage at any Ford plant in the past 20 years.

The UAW could not be reached for comment.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier