Email List Sign Up

Buyout Decisions Due For Chrysler UAW Workers

Posted: Friday, 13 November 2009 5:35AM

Buyout Decisions Due For Chrysler UAW Workers


Southfield (WWJ)  — Thousands of Chrysler autoworkers have big decisions to make by the end of the day. 

The Auburn Hills-based company is giving hourly UAW workers until the end of the day Friday to decide if they’ll take early retirement offers.  The automaker has 23,000 UAW workers. 

The three buyout packages are the first such offers since Chrysler Group LLC exited bankruptcy this summer. 

Younger workers who have been with the company at least one year can leave with a taxable payment of $75,000 and a $25,000 vehicle voucher, according to an earlier report in the Detroit Free Press.  Those workers would retain Chrysler health care coverage for six months with the option of buying 6 to 18 months of additional coverage.

Workers who have been with the company for at least ten years and are between 55 and 62 years old, could take an early buyout which would include a full pension, but no lump sum payment. 

Another offer for workers whose age and years of service equal 85 years or more, or age 60 with 10 plus years on the job could receive a vehicle voucher and a payout of 50-thousand dollars.  They’d also have pension benefits.  

The offers target workers at plants that Chrysler is phasing out, including Sterling Heights and Detroit Axle. 

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier