Email List Sign Up

Chrysler Financial to liquidate by end of 2011, U.S. says

October 23, 2009

Chrysler Financial to liquidate by end of 2011, U.S. says

The Detroit News

Washington — The Treasury Department said Thursday that Chrysler Financial is working to close its doors by the end of 2011.

"Chrysler Financial is currently following Treasury’s directive to liquidate its business in an orderly fashion," said Kenneth Feinberg, the Treasury’s special master overseeing pay for top executives at the seven firms that received government bailouts.

"Chrysler Financial is currently pursuing a successful wind down of its operations by Dec. 31, 2011," Feinberg states in a document to Chrysler Financial dated Thursday.

Late Thursday, the Treasury issued a statement emphasizing the company is still a going concern — but didn’t back away from its statement that Chrysler Financial would liquidate within 26 months.

"Chrysler Financial will continue to service its obligations to its existing lenders as required by its outstanding loan agreements," Treasury spokeswoman Meg Reilly said.

Cerberus Capital Management LP officials, however, said they were unaware of any liquidation orders and that closing isn’t part of their business plan.

"We state (the planned liquidation) as the current aspiration, not a plan that is set in stone, and we drew that conclusion from the company’s submissions and our discussions," said a Treasury official who asked not to be identified.

Chrysler Financial spokeswoman Amber Gowen did not comment.

Chrysler Group LLC had no comment.

Chrysler Financial is paying proportionally more than other financial institutions, Feinberg said.

Chrysler Financial will pay its top executive $1.5 million; $1.35 million will go to a second executive. Two others will receive $800,000 and $600,000. The remaining top 21 will make no more than $500,000."> (313) 222-2504

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts

GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Katherine McGaw
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier