Email List Sign Up

VW Mexico strike ends; workers get 3% raise








VW Mexico strike ends; workers get 3% raise


Automotive News | August 24, 2009 – 12:01 am EST


PUEBLA, Mexico — Management representatives from Volkswagen AG’s Mexican subsidiary agreed on Saturday to give workers a small raise, clearing the way to end a strike that has disrupted shipments of Jettas and New Beetles to the United States.

Union members, on strike since Tuesday, will return to work later on Saturday, said union official Victor Jaime Cervantes.

Volkswagen said in a press release it agreed to give workers a 3 percent raise and a one-time cash payment.

Volkswagen is one of Mexico’s biggest manufacturers, and like the rest of Mexico’s auto industry its Mexican plant has been hit hard by the U.S. recession. Mexico’s auto output fell 25 percent in July from a year earlier.

"Labor costs at Volkswagen in Puebla continue to rise while the rest of the auto industry in Mexico did not give raises this year. This obliges the company to reinforce measures to improve production," Volkswagen said in a statement.

Mexico’s plummeting auto exports have been a leading factor in the country’s recession, with the economy this year expected to contract more than any time since 1932.

UBS analysts estimated a shortfall of about 1,000 to 1,200 vehicles a day because of the work stoppage at the factory, in the central state of Puebla. Volkswagen makes cars for both the Mexican market and for export.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier