Local school offers new career to autoworkers

Local school offers new career to autoworkers

Posted: Aug 04, 2009 9:33 PM CDT 

One Nashville school is offering a new opportunity for the more than 2,000 autoworkers who could be affected by the Spring Hill General Motors plant going idle in a few months.  


For now, GM employees are hard at work building the Chevy Traverse at the Spring Hill plant, but many will be laid off when the facility is idled in November.

Spring Hill UAW Local 1853


Chairman Mike Herron says he suspects about 2,200 people will be laid off at that time.

The Salon Professional Academy

Lessie Pruitt, co-owner of The Salon Professional Academy, says the school is offering a $5,000 scholarship off the $16,990 tuition for the cosmetology program.


She says their 10-month cosmetology program has a 94% placement rate at top salons.

"Across the United States, the average compensation for a cosmetologist is $50,000," Pruitt said.

Herron said, "We’re deeply appreciative, in fact we’re looking for opportunities for our members, and any opportunity that we can come up with that’s going to be beneficial and improve their skill sets."

It may seem like a big departure from the typical skill set used by autoworkers. 

Herron said, "With 3,000 people here at this location, you’re going to have quite a variety of people who have different interests."

Pruitt says it’s an opportunity to reach out to people losing jobs in her own backyard.

"We want to change people’s lives. We want to change their careers, and who better to start with than the people who are in our surrounding areas," she said.

The academy has five program start dates throughout the year.

The next one is September 15, and there is another one in November. 

The Salon Professional Academy is located on Old Lebanon Road in the Donelson area.

in Nashville is reaching out to autoworkers, offering a scholarship to those who may want to leave the assembly line for a new line of work.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier