GM drops Jim Reed from Chevy line-up

GM drops Jim Reed from Chevy line-up


Nashville Business Journal – by Turner Hutchens Staff Writer

Jim Reed Chevrolet occupies more than 600,000 square feet along Broadway.

View Larger

After almost 80 years, one of Nashville’s most prominent Chevrolet dealers won’t be selling new General Motors vehicles much longer.

Jim Reed Chevrolet was one of the more than 1,000 GM dealerships to receive letters in May telling owners that their contracts with the struggling automaker would not be renewed in 2010, according to area dealers and others familiar with the situation.

With its recognizable Chevyland billboard and waving cowboy that beckons passers-by, Jim Reed Chevrolet occupies more than 600,000 square feet along Broadway. Jim Reed operations also include other non-GM vehicle brands, including Hyundai, Subaru and Isuzu.

General Manager John Reed did not respond to requests for an interview Monday and Tuesday.

Jim Reed Chevrolet Co. was created in 1930 by Jim Reed Jr., who had sold Chevrolets and other cars prior to founding the company, according to the dealership’s Web site.

Jim Reed III became president of the company in 1958, though his father continued to be involved with the operations until his death in 1978. Jim Reed IV and John Reed, both sons of Jim Reed III, joined the operation in the 1970s and 1980s.

Chevrolet of Smyrna, which was already in bankruptcy when GM sent the letters, is the only Nashville area GM dealership to have confirmed the automaker was terminating its dealership agreement.

GM sent letters to about 1,100 U.S. dealers telling them their franchise agreements won’t be renewed when they expire in 2010. The letters outlined a dealership’s deficiencies and detail how it failed to meet the requirements of GM’s sales and service agreements.

The move was part of GM’s plan to cut its dealer network by 2,600 locations, or 40 percent, by the end of 2010.


Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier