Dental plan offered to UAW-represented GM, Chrysler retirees

June 29, 2009

Dental plan offered to UAW-represented GM, Chrysler retirees

Delta Dental of Michigan, Ohio and Indiana has announced that it is making an individual dental plan available to UAW-represented General Motors and Chrysler retirees nationwide so they can continue their dental coverage to help maintain good oral health.

"As a result of the significant global recession and the restructuring occurring in the U.S. auto industry, many retirees are now facing reduced health coverage at a time when they truly need it most," said Dr. Thomas Fleszar, CEO of Delta Dental of Michigan, Ohio and Indiana. "Maintaining good oral health through our special retiree plan will help them maintain their overall health as well."

The individual plan has several affordable options. It has been available to salaried retirees from Chrysler, Ford and General Motors, which previously reduced or eliminated employer-paid health benefits. Based on the success of that program and Delta Dental’s commitment to its enrollees, the company is expanding the program to the UAW-represented hourly retirees, their spouses and families.

By signing up for this plan, retirees will continue to access significant savings on their dental care through the Delta Dental network of participating dentists, which is the largest in the nation. The coverage includes routine services like oral exams, cleanings and X-rays, as well as more complex services like bridges, crowns, dentures, denture repairs, fillings, gum disease treatment, oral surgery and root canals.

UAW-represented retirees of General Motors and Chrysler will need to sign up within 60 days of losing their coverage in order to avoid eligibility waiting periods.

For more information about the coverage and to enroll, UAW-represented GM and Chrysler retirees should call 888-607-7001. Information also is available on Delta Dental’s Web site at

Login Status
You are not logged in.
Seniority Lists
Internal Job Postings
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Gary Goforth
Mike Danford
Danny Taylor
Steve Roberts
Jay Minella
Steve Homrich
Chris Brown
Richie Griffith

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Joe DiCataldo
Sgt. at Arms
Norman Jenks
Ken Buck
E-Board at Large (2)
Paul Taylor
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Voith Unit Chair
Larry Heflin
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier