Email List Sign Up

GM to lay off 887 workers in Wentzville

GM to lay off 887 workers in Wentzville


St. Louis Business Journal – by Kelsey Volkmann

Scott Schultz

View Larger

General Motors Corp., which filed for bankruptcy last week, plans to cut a shift from its Wentzville plant and lay off 887 workers or nearly half its hourly work force there.

The job cuts, which will occur Aug. 10, will affect 887 of the 1,900 hourly workers at the plant, according to Chris Lee, a GM spokesman.

“We are having to make the tough decision based on product demand,” he said. “We have to reduce our inventories and get production output in line with what the market demands.”

When asked whether reducing production at the Wentzville plant from two shifts to one would make the factory more vulnerable to a closure in the future, Lee said: “Not necessarily. If demand increases, we have added shifts back on” at other locations.

GM will idle its Wentzville plant starting this week until July 27.

Last week, GM identified the 14 plants it plans to close or idle by the end of 2010, but the Wentzville plant was spared because it’s the only plant where Chevrolet Express and GMC Savana vans are made, analysts had said.

When Wentzville Mayor Paul Lambi took office seven years ago, Wentzville counted on GM for about 55 to 60 percent of its total revenue. Today, it’s more like 15 percent of the city’s $24 million general fund, because GM pays the city about $3 million a year in real estate taxes, property taxes and other fees, he said last week.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier