GM’s Lutz, five other executives sell all remaining shares

Automotive News | May 12, 2009 – 12:14 am EST


GM’s Lutz, five other executives sell all remaining shares

DETROIT (Reuters) — Six General Motors executives disclosed on Monday they sold almost $315,000 in stock and liquidated their remaining direct holdings in the struggling automaker.

In filings with U.S. securities regulators, the GM insiders led by former Vice Chairman and product chief Bob Lutz detailed stock sales on their behalf on Friday and Monday during a trading window for such transactions.

Lutz, who is now an adviser to the automaker, sold $130,989 worth of GM stock at the closing price of $1.61 on Friday.

That sale of the 81,360 shares cleared out all of Lutz’s direct holdings of GM stock, according to his filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

According to the filings, the five other executives who sold all of their GM stock holdings were: Lutz’s successor, Thomas Stephens; GM North America President Troy Clarke; Chief Information Officer Ralph Szygenda; manufacturing chief Gary Cowger; and head of European operations Carl-Peter Forster.

GM is headed for either a bankruptcy filing or an out-of- court restructuring that would wipe out current stockholders by flooding the market with new shares to pay off creditors.

The automaker’s stock could be either worthless in a bankruptcy or worth less than 2 cents per share if it proceeds with its plans to issue shares to creditors led by the U.S. Treasury, the company has said.

Insider trading restrictions have prevented GM’s senior executives from selling stock holdings for most of this year as the automaker has scrambled to restructure under the oversight of the Obama administration’s autos task force.

But after the filing of its quarterly report with the SEC last week, GM executive officers and directors were notified a "trading window" had opened on Friday, spokeswoman Julie Gibson said.

The trading window remained open on Monday and could be open for Tuesday as well, she added.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier