Ford may hire 1,500 at Wayne

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Ford may hire 1,500 at Wayne

Carmaker to invest $400M over 5 years in factory complex

Bryce G. Hoffman / The Detroit News


Ford Motor Co. is expected to announce a $400 million investment in its Wayne factory complex today, which could lead to the creation of 1,500 jobs over the next five years.

The Dearborn automaker already announced plans to retool the former Michigan Truck Plant, which is being renamed Michigan Assembly and will produce small cars from Europe. Now, Ford is announcing additional investments to retool the nearby Wayne Stamping Plant as well.

"We’re all for it," said John Kujat, a member of United Auto Workers Local 900, which represents workers at the Wayne complex. "I believe in Bill Ford and Alan Mulally. As far as I’m concerned, they’ve earned every penny of their salaries."

Gov. Jennifer Granholm is scheduled to join Executive Chairman Bill Ford Jr. and other executives at the former Michigan Truck Plant this morning for the announcement. State authorities on Tuesday approved more than $159 million in tax credits for Ford, and the City of Wayne has already authorized more than $15 million in property tax abatements.

The Michigan Economic Growth Authority said Ford will make the investment over the next five years, protecting 3,200 jobs and potentially creating 1,500 more if sales improve.

The first vehicle built at Michigan Truck will be a new Ford Focus based on the current European model. It is expected to go on sale in the United States next year.

Addressing Latino community leaders at the Latin Americans for Social & Economic Development Inc.’s luncheon Tuesday, Bill Ford said he expects the economy to rebound in the second half of the year.

"All the money that’s flowing into the economy is going to have to have an effect, probably later this year," he said. "What I’m focused mostly on is getting Ford in a position so that when we come out of this we’ll be strong and ready to go."

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier