Email List Sign Up

GM, Chrysler can’t tap into retooling loans

April 7, 2009

GM, Chrysler can’t tap into retooling loans

Law bars struggling automakers, for now


WASHINGTON — General Motors Corp. and Chrysler LLC are blocked — at least for now — from receiving any part of $25 billion in loans for retooling factories that federal officials will begin lending in a matter of weeks.

The U.S. Department of Energy has $25 billion in loans meant to boost production of fuel-efficient vehicles and parts for making them. So far, automakers and parts suppliers have submitted $44.6 billion in requests, including $10.3 billion from GM and $6 billion from Chrysler.

But under the laws governing the loan program, companies must be "financially viable" without the loans to receive them. The Obama administration ruled last week that neither GM nor Chrysler met that standard, giving GM 60 days to rework its restructuring plans and Chrysler 30 days to conclude a partnership with Fiat SpA or face bankruptcy.

That means Ford Motor Co. may be the only Detroit automaker that qualifies for the first round of loans, which Energy Secretary Steven Chu has said would be granted by May. Ford has asked for $11 billion.

Energy Department spokeswoman Stephanie Mutter said the department would not comment on individual applications. She did say Energy was working closely with Treasury on the loans, and that Treasury’s decisions on financial viability would stand.

GM spokesman Kerry Christopher said the automaker was working with Treasury and Energy Department officials on its restructuring plans. GM has already borrowed $13.4 billion from Treasury, and said last week that $2.6 billion of the loans requested from the Energy Department would go toward two variants of the Chevrolet Volt.

"They can’t give us the additional loans until all other issues are worked out," Christopher said.

Seniority Lists
Recent Posts!
Bargaining Committee

Mike Herron
Tim Stannard
Zone at Large – 1st
Danny Taylor
Zone at Large – 2nd
Mark Wilkerson
Joe McClure
Chad Poynor
Steve Roberts
Derek Lewis
Bill Cundiff
Kirk Zebbs
Don Numinen
Jay Minella
Danny Bragg
Chris Hill
Rashad Thomas
Keith Oswald
Chris Brown

1853 Officers

Tim Stannard
Mike Herron
Vice President
Darrell DeJean
Financial Secretary
Mark Wunderlin
Recording Secretary
Peggy Mullins
Trustee (3)
Jay Lowe
Dave Clements
Dave Spare
Sgt. at Arms
David C Spare
Ashley Holloway
E-Board at Large (2)
David Ryder
Steve Roberts
GM Unit Chair
Mike Herron
Leadec Unit Chair
Larry Poole
Ryder Unit Chair
Patrick Linck
AFV Unit Chair
Neil Osborne
Retiree Chair
Mike Martinez

Get Text Alerts


*Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier